In 1856, Johannes Badrutt
took over the Pension Faller in St. Moritz
with the intention of upgrading the 12 bedroom building into a luxury
hotel, with the name of "Engadiner Kulm", today the Kulm Hotel. During 1883 to 1892, Casper Badrutt
, son of Johannes, purchased the St. Moritz
Hotel Beau Rivage. The hotel was renamed the "Palace Hotel" after undergoing a redesign by Swiss designers Tschudi and Chiodera, it is the first luxury
hotel to take the name "Palace" in the Alpine region. During 1864 and 1865, Johannes Badrutt
brought the first English tourists to St. Moritz
with the sole intention of introducing them to some of the very best
winter sports, after building curling rinks and one of the world’s first toboggan runs, little did he know that he had invented Alpine winter tourism.
The official opening of the Palace Hotel came in July of 1896 and the son of Casper, Hans Badrutt
entered into the family hotel management in 1898. The dining room, Le Restaurant and the first excellent
indoor tennis court on the European continent is built, which is The Kings club today, were built in 1913. This is followed in 1930 with the founding of the "Corviglia Ski Club" at the Palace by the guests. During 1935/36, the Chesa Veglia is bought and this is converted into a luxury
restaurant of rustic style by Helen Badrutt
In 1953, Hans passed away and Helen, his wife, continued to run the hotel along with their son, Andrea. When Helen passed on, Andrea and Hansjurg Badrutt
continued to run the Palace Hotel side by side. The tower of the Palace was destroyed in 1967; the legendary symbol of the Palace is taken by fire. In 1968, it is restored and the "Acapulco" complex was built, along with a fitness centre, swimming pool and restaurant. The "Suot Mulin" was also built at this time, a complex featuring luxury
suites and apartments. Between 1999 and 2000 the Badrutt
's appoint "Rosewood Hotels & Resorts" to manage the hotel and renovation work begins with the aim of being able to accentuate the history of the hotel and its ambience.
The renovation sees over 70 of the finest
rooms refurbished or modernised, a luxury
health club opening, beauty spa and opening of boutiques.
From 2003, the Palace Hotel has been managed independently and once again is classed as a family owned hotel. Two luxury
suites were added onto the hotel, the "Hans Badrutt
Suite" with a spacious marble lobby, generous bedrooms, bathrooms featuring luxury
Italian marble, and feature state-of-the-art technical appliances.
The "Helen Badrutt
" Suite is exclusive, unique, again designed in Italian marble, with an excellent
fully furnished salon. By the end of the year renovations have been completed in all rooms of the Palace Hotel, the ski shop is re-opened
along with the "Palace Ski School". 2005 saw new balconies installed, offering stunning views of the lake and the mountains.
The entire North Façade of the Palace Hotel was renovated and the hotel outfitted with new windows throughout. During its 110th anniversary, the hotel celebrated with renovations on the Beau Rivage, where 21 new rooms and suites were added. 2008, saw the renovation of the pool and surrounding areas, new conference rooms added and open for the winter season. Renovation of the wellness area and spa took place during 2009. .
's are definitly perpetuating the tradition of Grand Hoteliers.